Different Wavelengths

by jonnahzkennedy

I’m currently planning what will likely be my next true novel (it’s been over a year since I’ve written one, so I think it’s due time I start, since it’s usually this time of the year that I’m about halfway through or starting a novel), and the struggle is that I’ve already set up my work site, and I’ve found many artifacts of it in the dirt: the bricks, the picture, the dried pool, the old television set; all of it, I know this site well, the problem, though, is that I’m trying to rebuild a house, unsink the Titanic, and understand these bones that I’m looking at. In short, it’s going to be a very large project, and I haven’t undertaken a project with so many characters in about 2 years, and the last time I did, I didn’t finish it so I’m quite worried to actually start such a project again. These may only be the worries of the beginning stage of any novel–how will I do it? Where will it go? Is it actually worth writing? Third or first person?–but I still find it quite discomforting to know that I have many of the pieces, just not enough to get anything really moving, especially since I’m out in the woods alone here. But, as I take a break from trying to dig up these bones, I decided to turn on the radio: and I’m getting 2 different wavelengths. One is for the story, another is a voice from the same era, or maybe even further, and I can’t place it: does it belong to the first wavelength, or is it a standalone? As I pondered this, I began to realize something: writers are little more than broken radios, truly. We pick up signals randomly and start playing that tune we’re picking up, but whether or not it’s perfect quality, no one can really tell in the beginning stages: you just have to wait for us to tune it, which is to say, wait for us to finish writing it. What is more though, even when a writer manages one wavelength, undoubtedly they will begin to get other wavelengths that interfere with the current one, but this may not be a bad thing. A writer, any man really, cannot expect to work on one project at a time, especially when there are so many frequencies to pick up. One of the things that will keep you going, writing that is, is if you allow yourself to pick up on some of these other frequencies instead of pushing them back like they’re nothing: if you hear something then you listen to that something, because it could be the song you’ve been hearing all along and could never quite place it until now.

