The First Step Out of 7,000

by jonnahzkennedy

In the wake of my purchasing of Skyrim, all other activities have been postponed. The beautiful country in Tamriel is an expansive,beautiful world on the lines of Middle-Earth, filled with just as much detail as it is enemies (such as bears, frost trolls, and of course, dragons), yet even when I am overwhelmed with anger, I find it so easy to simply forget it as I take a walk through the pines in search of my next quest, or I’m trying to regenerate my health and stamina so that I can go back and join the fight for which I will surely lose.

One of the lessons that you learn while playing Skyrim is that, you have one of two options if you wish to survive: get some really good weapons and learn to utilize your powers to the fullest, or runaway. More often than not, I choose the later simply because I have not learned how to do the former. Sure, I’m a level 10 thus far, but that dosen’t mean anything because I’m still trying to learn how to fight higher level enemies without dying within seconds, but it’s all a learn process. 

Of course, the true lesson that I have learned, is that, like a Hobbit, the hardest and most terrifying part of any journey is stepping out of the door. You can go about your life believing that you’ve taken the step to adventure, but in truth, you are still eating sweets and cakes in your little hobbit hole, reading books about people who take exciting adventures and laughing at them, “Fools! Going out and risking your lives in the big bad world, tut, who would ever want to go out and face the world when you have all you need in your sweet little hovel in the meadow? Hmph!” And you continue to read, but like every hobbit, there is something within you: there is a longing in you, there is a great urge within you to step out of your door and no longer reader the legends of great adventures but to become part of a legend of a great adventure: you have big dreams to see the world, you have big dreams to wonder what lies beyond the hills and the mountains, you want to know why the sky is blue and you want to smell the grass, and you don’t want pretty descriptions and explanations: you want to learn for yourself, you want to break the sky, make it fall, learn from your mistakes, and do it all over again as you journey to fight the next frost troll or dragon: you want it so bad, but you just can’t because while you have this side of your mind dreaming, your logical, reasonable side of your mind tells you naught. 

There are 7,000 steps to get to High Hrothgar in Skyrim (not really, but its exaggerated per the rumors of the townsfolk), and I once got about halfway up those steps when I was killed by a Ice Wolf; I hadn’t saved my game so I was forced to return to the bottom of the mountain, but I went back up again, and this time I was prepared for the Ice Wolf who I slaughtered in two strokes of my Iron Greatsword, and I continued on, and it was easy going: until the Frost Troll who struck me down in two hits. Luckily, this time I had saved my game. 

You see, the road to becoming a successful writer–the warrior that you are, warrior of the pen–is long, hard, but you must carry on. You must not let your single bad experience outside your door send you running back inside to suck on tea and cupcakes: no! You must see where you messed up, save your game, and continue on with more wisdom than the first time. You may try and fail, but you may try and again and succeed with wisdom, and though you may fail again, you have to keep going back: never back down. You have to find your way to High Hrothgar and you must walk up all 7,000 steps if you ever wish to finally dine with the graybeards at the very top of the Throat of the World, where you shall learn their secrets, learn what they did to get here, and you must learn to control your voice and Shout at the dragons who dare to come across you and test your might: you must test their might, for are they prepared for the fury of your unstoppable force? 

The scariest part of writing is starting writing, but you must start, even if it’s with Once Upon a Time as that’s as far as you got: you’re the most courageous person this side of the world because you finally took the step out of your hobbithole to battle the dragons. 

Stay strong and write on my ravens!

